now browsing by category


Owen County Indiana

Owen County is located in west central Indiana. The first settlers arrived in Owen County in 1816. The county was organized in 1818, and was authorized as a county by the state in 1819.

Owen County was named for Abraham Owen, a member of the Kentucky Militia, who was killed in the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811.

Owen County has a population of approximately 24,500 people.

The population of Spencer, the county seat, is about 2,700.

The Owen County Courthouse was built in 1911, replacing the original brick structure.